Finalist of JazzCompGraz 2017 with “Aspetta”

© Federico Rollo


Competition for modern Jazz composition in Graz, Austria

I’m very glad and thankful for this great news: I’m one of the finalists of JazzCompGraz 2017 for Big Band Composers!

The jury, composed by Ed Partyka (Chair), Michael Abene, John Hollenbeck and Jörg Achim Keller, have selected 10 finalists from 52 applications coming from all the world:

  • Cinzia Catania (CH) – “Anatomy of Melancholy”
  • Gabriele di Franco (IT) – “Aspetta”
  • Jakob Helling (DE) – “Not Yet”
  • Tobias Hoffmann (DE) – “Unforseen Fantasy”
  • Christoph Klenner (DE) – “Meltdown”
  • Henri Lyysaari (FI) – “Child of Spring”
  • Ursula Reicher (AT) – “Do You Feel?”
  • Anna-Lena Schnabel (DE) – “Toy”
  • Suzan R. Veneman (NL) – “The Start of Something Good”
  • Luise Volkmann (DE) – “untitled”

I’m proud to be the only Italian in the final.

As a finalist, I’ll have the opportunity to take part in the rehearsals of the KUG JazzOrchester and attend workshops with the Jury members. The winners will be chosen upon the presentation at the final concert (17.11.2017).
The whole finals will also be recorded live and published in the first half of 2018.